View Full Version : The Top 25/50 Kaiju Sites rating engines
Kaiju Nexus
October 4th, 2003, 09:38 AM
Many kaiju sites, including mine, have links to "Top" sites that list a number of sites in order of how many clicks they get, etc. I for one have a few on my site, one of them being the popular "Top 25 Kaiju Sites".
I decided to click on that link today, just to see how the rankings looked. When I got to the page, I found that "Free XXX Porn" was at the top of the rankings. This in itself disgusted me to the point that I actually shook my head in disbelief. But, even worse, I was redirected to an "adult web page"!!!!!!
This is simply atrotious. I WILL NOT post a link to this page for obvious reasons, but if you dont believe me, anyone who knows the site rankings page i am talking about may click on a link they can find to it and see for themselves, although I STRONGLY suggest closing the page before it redirects you!!!
I for one liked this simple site until today. If anyone knows the webmaster of the "Top 25 Kaiju Sites", PLEASE tell him to remove the Free XXX Porn link from the rankings and fix the redirect.
I am not upset with the webmaster, but truly infuriated with the sick and disgusting site that decided to post their adult link on this harmless page. Truly, for shame.
http://www.rodansroost.com/ikonboard/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/nonono2.gif
Goji Son
October 4th, 2003, 10:40 AM
It is probably not the webmasters fault, the site has probably overrun by hackers.
Kaiju Nexus
October 4th, 2003, 11:22 AM
i know its not the webmasters fault. i dont blame him . . . unless he has neglected the site and therefore not noticed this has happened.
baragon2005
October 4th, 2003, 12:14 PM
Same happened to me. I couldn't get off the site, so I had to restart my computer. http://www.rodansroost.com/ikonboard/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/sad.gif Oh well, still more sites out there like it.
http://www.rodansroost.com/ikonboard/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/baragonsmilie.gif
Saruman
October 4th, 2003, 12:39 PM
Thats one reason you dont see links to sites like that on the Roost. They are simply to easy for people to mess with like you have just found out.
Seer235
October 4th, 2003, 01:17 PM
That's actually been around for a while. It was noticed and taken off the site I work at maybe a year ago.
Kaiju Nexus
October 4th, 2003, 06:29 PM
i c, so why doesn't the webmaster of top 25 take it off?
Raptor
October 5th, 2003, 12:45 AM
That's what I'd like to know. I emailed them and it didn't bounce but I also got no response. It's a great concept but someone isn't minding the herd the way they should. If this situation doesn't improve, I'm thinking of pulling the plug on their link because I do not wish to have my stuff (or the kaiju fandom) associated in any way with such stuff as has appeared there lately.
DragonLord
October 5th, 2003, 07:10 PM
<font color='#FF0000'>they should put up a firewall on the site, so they can't get hacked
Norcen
October 5th, 2003, 11:41 PM
A bit off-topic (well, maybe not), but has anyone else notice the degradation of newsground. A site that wasn't too bad, but now a basic porn site?
Kaiju Nexus
October 6th, 2003, 08:44 AM
you mean newgrounds, and no, that site has really always been like that. but they are not a porn site really, even though they link to many sites that are.
Norcen
October 6th, 2003, 03:01 PM
In the beginning, the site wasn't bad-bad...
Now it is literally a porn site. There is atleast one ad of porn on every page...
Lord Jimifulss
October 6th, 2003, 03:24 PM
Newgrounds does have some adult material, but they also post warnings. A link on EVERY page? That seems a bit extreme. I did see a couple of links, but not one on every page.
Zillamon51
October 20th, 2003, 12:10 PM
The "Top 25 Kaiju Sites" has always been a scam. *I used to post links on DMI to both the top 25 site, and to Godzilla Palace's Top 50 Japanese Sci-Fi Sites (http://www.godzillapalace.com/cgi-bin/lspro/lspro.cgi?click=1050729547). *While DMI has consistently been in or near the top 10 on the "Top 50 Site", it was never even listed on the "Top 25 Sites!" *What was always #1 on the "Top 25 Sites" for weeks was an ad link selling little digital webcams. *It was apparent to me that the "Top 25 Sites" was/is just a moneymaking scam, while GP's "Top 50 Sites" is legit.
Needless to say, I now only link to GP's "Top 50 Sites." *The porn links on the "Top 25" don't surprise me. *I encourage Raptor to remove her link to it, and everyone check out the "Top 50." *It's a much better service. *(All I want to know is how Thai-Toku is almost always #1, with thousands of hits every month; do they pay people? *Is it Thai solidarity? *Or is it...a conspiracy?!? *http://www.rodansroost.com/ikonboard/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif)
Project Pimp
May 4th, 2004, 04:27 AM
http://www.masercity.com/topsites/
Project Pimp
May 4th, 2004, 04:34 AM
^ The above was created because, well, there didn't seem to be any kaiju topsites list engines left. The old ones often evoked fear into the hearts of potential users because they were loaded with useless ads, computer crashing pop-ups, and pornography. This topsites system has the ability to avoid all said problems. Joining is easy.
1.) Have a kaiju/giant monster/tokusatsu site.
2.) Sign up using the simple submission form.
3.) Insert the HTML code given to you onto your website.
And that's it. It takes seconds. If you've done this sort of thing before, you know the drill. People click on the links on your site, they get directed towards the topsite page, and each time this happens, your rank increases by one point. The higher the rank, the higher you are on the list. I hope that people will add their sites to the list and enjoy it. Please do not abuse it. The system has built-in features to deter system abusers, and it will be moderated as well. Have fun.
vBulletin® v3.7.0, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.